Friday Favorites

unnamedThis week, we transitioned Carla May from the smaller Dockatot to the bigger Dockatot.  She kept rolling over in the smaller Dockatot, and I got worried that she might get stuck, since the cushioned barriers don’t allow for much movement.  I thought the transition might interrupt her usual 11-12 hours of sleep for a night or two while she got used to her new sleeping arrangements, but I did not need to be worried – my good sleeper stayed a good sleeper!  These days, I try not to take anything for granted and rejoice in the little things!

Here are a few more things that brought me joy this week:

Mac n Cheese with Bacon and Peas

Chatham has been working a lot this week, so I haven’t prepared any special dinners and have been mostly using up what we have.  In doing so, I stumbled upon a great recipe that I’m going to have to add to our regular rotation because it was so easy and delicious:

IMG_7691

Ingredients:

1 box Annie’s White Cheddar Shells

4 slices bacon

1/2 bag frozen peas

2 tbs butter

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1/2 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese

1 minced garlic clove

3 sprigs of thyme leaves

Instructions:

Boil Annie’s pasta as instructed on the box.  Two minutes to completion, pour in frozen peas. Drain pasta when finished.

Meanwhile, slice up bacon into small pieces and fry until crispy.  Place bacon pieces on a paper towels to soak up the grease.

In the saucepan you used to cook the pasta, melt butter and add garlic and thyme.  When garlic is fragrant, pour in milk, sauce powder from Annie’s box, and cheeses.  Stir and add pasta, peas, and bacon.

Enjoy!

This Article

Some of you may have watched my Instagram Story this week about the mockingbirds tormenting my cat.  Well..  not only have they gotten worse, they’ve also started tormenting ME when I take the dogs out.  I did some research (aka Googling) about territorial mockingbirds and came across the funniest article describing the phenomenon that was written a few years ago.  See if you can read the whole thing without laughing: Dive-Bombing Mockingbirds Terrorize South Florida

Minimizing

This week I went through all of my clothes Marie Kondo-style and got rid of everything that doesn’t bring me joy!  Now, all of my clothes fit in only one closet and it is so easy to put together an outfit every morning.  I did not realize until I finished the project and was looking at everything left in my closet that all of my clothes are the same colors: blue, blush, black, white, tan, or gray.  I guess I know what I like, huh?

Note: There are two types of people – those who care if their hangers match and those who don’t.  I am obviously in the latter category.

17D01-1

Getting rid of clutter, choosing versatile clothing styles that all go together, and organizing a closet are three things I enjoy, so this was a really fun project for me.  Any local friends who would like to organize their closet, please call me!  Seriously, I’d love to help!!!

How was your week? What brought you joy?

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

