Friday Favorites

Carla May has been trying to sit up on her own this week, and Hayduke has been testing her balance.  I have gotten a lot of laughs from watching.  I hope you do, too:

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Here are a few more things that have brought me joy this week:

Book Darts

I saw these on Anne Bogel’s Instagram and ordered them immediately.  Never again will I re-read an entire page to figure out which paragraph I was on!  Think of all the time you can save!!!

Found where all my book darts were hiding.

A post shared by Modern Mrs Darcy (@annebogel) on

Elle Little Headbands

My friend Letitia sews and sells beautiful handmade women’s accessories.  She recently came out with a line of wire headbands.  I didn’t realize how terribly my other headbands function until I tried on one of these.  The wire holds the band in place and allows you to style the ends however you like.  She has so many fun colors and patterns available, including several Rifle Paper Company fabrics.

17E10FF-3

Check out her store here.  I bought several headbands and have already gotten a lot of use out of them (and they make great gifts, too!).

The Handmaid’s Tale

Image result for the handmaid's tale hulu

Most of the time movie/show adaptations of books leave much to be desired.  This is not the case with Hulu’s new series based on Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, a book I re-read and reviewed back in March.  The series is only five episodes in, but it is already capturing the creepiness and haunting tone of the book. Some of the scenes were so powerful, they actually left me close to tears (then again, I am close to tears a lot these days, so that may not reveal much… #momlife #hormones).  Elizabeth Moss from Mad Men plays the lead character Offred, and her performance has been spot-on thus far.

50mm Camera Lens

I’ve recently started using a real camera rather than just my phone (THANK YOU to my sister-in-law Jane for the hand-me-down Nikon D3100!).  Last week I picked up a 50mm lens, and it makes a world of difference in my photos.  See how Carla May’s face is clear in the two photos below, but the background has a great blurred effect?  That’s the 50mm lens working its magic.

17E10FF-417E10FF-1

Peonies

Mother’s Day is this weekend, so all of the grocery stores have beautiful flowers available this week.  I hardly ever see peonies at the grocery store but saw some gorgeous pink ones at Whole Foods last weekend and just had to indulge.  Fresh-cut flowers are one of those things that seem like a silly purchase when you over-analyze, but actually bring so much joy relative to the amount you spend.  I get an instant boost of happiness every time I pass a vase of fresh flowers, especially peonies.

17E10FF-2

How was your week?  What brought you joy?

xoxo

Leave a Reply

